October 08, 2012

Sweep you all the way to Kentucky

All this week the weather is going to be in the sixties and I'm so excited. My windows are open and I let off a little shiver now and then, but I find it absolutely delightful. Hopefully, hot muggy summer weather is finally finally over. I thought it was done with a few weeks ago, but it snuck back in on us.

Supposedly today I'm going to be called to set up my next interview for that university position. I wish they would get on with it. Why is the hiring process so slow? Also, when I go in I have to take a timed logic text...which means a lot of problem solving questions with numbers. Boo! But fortunately, I have inside hands that snagged me a copy of the test. Cheating as it may technically be, I hope it's an exact replica. I don't work well under eight minute time restraints. I really really hope they hire me. I've been told that the lady who interviewed me liked me and she's the tough one. Now I pray the president is just as smitten.

Last night TJ really annoyed me. It always comes down to food, haha. Since it was so chilly, I decided to make myself a cup of hot chocolate. Real hot chocolate made from melted dark chocolate morsels, milk, and a hint of cinnamon. I let him taste it and as soon as I said there was cinnamon in it, he was convinced that I had made a cup of chai and not a cup of hot chocolate. I don't know why, but it just infuriated me that he kept calling it chai. I mean, chai is light and refreshing where my hot chocolate was heavy and decadent. But no, he remained unconvinced. It wasn't creamy like hot chocolate. I told him that chai is rather creamy, too. Anyway, it's not my fault he's so used to drinking Swiss Miss he doesn't know the real stuff when it's right in his mouth.

It seemed liked such a long weekend. Thomas brought his new girlfriend over and we hung out everyday Fri-Sun because it was her birthday weekend. She's nice enough. I like her, but I think Thomas will find some reason to break up with her eventually. I mean, apparently they've been "talking" for five months, but would you like to know how many people he has slept with during that time before finally bringing her around? I understand casual dating, but they are telling each other how much they are in love. I'm pretty sure she would skin him alive if she knew. But right now, it's not my place and we'll see if he does anything else. She also has four kids, all of which I met yesterday. Thomas seems to like them, but who knows with men.

Oooh, I also finally finished the fourth book in the A Song of Ice and Fire series, which means I got the fifth book from the library on Saturday. I'm only a few chapters in (and there are like 1000 pages!), but I'm really enjoying it so far, maybe even more than any of the previous four.

Alright, time to go try and make a bruchetta pizza. I figure if I call it bruschetta, it's okay if there isn't any cheese on it...

scullerymaid at 11:24 a.m.

pots | pans