June 26, 2012

Jail bird

At around four o'clock this morning, I received a very exciting text. Coley, one of the girls that went to Costa Rica with me, informed me that the company she works for is hiring...translators! Wouldn't that be cool if I got hired? The company she works for is young and vibrant and I would love to be part of that team. Coley always looks likes she's having so much fun. Now my fingers are really double crossed!

Then an hour later, I received a disturbing phone call from my dad. My brother has been arrested for grand theft auto. Seriously. Apparently, he was stealing cars, crashing them, and stealing stuff from other cars with his dumbass friends. I don't blame my parents for this, but he was supposed to come live here months ago but they never got around to enforcing that rule. It makes me so angry how little they parent him. Now he has four felonies and surely is going to jail. My grandma always said that's where he would end up and I always hated her for that. Guess she knew what she was talking about. He was supposed to go to court today, too, for his pot habits. That's not going to happen now. He's just digging his grave deeper and deeper.

My little brother has had it rough, but I still can't believe this is happening. I wish there was someway he could be sent away to some sort of program for troubled youth as opposed to jail. I mean, he's homeless. His parents left him in Richmond. He was kicked out of school and hasn't been back since he was like 14/15. His work options are limited. All he does is get high. He's only 17. I'm sure I would join the wrong crowd and act out too. I wish they could send him to rehab. But my little brother is probably going to jail and I haven't quite decided out to react.

scullerymaid at 8:56 a.m.

pots | pans