June 22, 2012

Weddings weddings weddings

Today I'm a little sad. Perhaps sad is too strong of a word. I guess one could say that I'm thoughtful. Yes, today I'm feeling very thoughtful and reflective. The mailman just stopped by and hand me a letter from Weyers, Va. That could mean only one thing:SB's wedding invitation!

Sure enough, I opened the envelope to find a burlap and lace inspired card wrapped in twine. It was lovely, something I myself would choose. I may have screeched a little bit on the porch. I went into the house and proceeded to type in SB and Elbon's wedding site into my browser. I read their engagement story (which had never been told to me although she called me that same night to gush the good news), checked out the venue, then hit the tab that read Wedding Party.

I already knew two of the names that would be on the list. I was a little surprised to see Snortgiggles' name there, though I really shouldn't have. After all, Snortgiggles live in Richmond. Snortgiggles sees SB all the time. They've become very buddy buddy in the last year.

Perhaps it's selfish of me, but I couldn't help thinking how if I had moved to Richmond my name would be on that list. If I was her roommate, she would've asked me in a heartbeat to be a bridesmaid. But I chose to stay here. I chose TJ, and now I'll be sitting in the audience. SB is one of my best friends so I'm not putting down her character, but I think it's little unfair that because I chose TJ over her that I'm not a bridesmaid.

But then again, maybe I am just being selfish and self righteous and she wouldn't have asked me anyway. Guess I'll never know.

All these weddings do have me thinking about my future (hopefully) wedding. In college, there were 6 of us and I always assumed that we would all be in each others wedding party. But you know what they say about assumptions. I'd almost rather not have a wedding party at all. Wouldn't it be easier just to have the groom and I standing at the alter? There would be no pressure to be the maid of honor or the best man or the ring bearer or flower girl. It would just be the two of us for the world to see. Oh, and we could save money on bridesmaid dresses and extra bouquets.

Who wants to be conventional anyway? But then again, I am a traditionalist at heart sometimes. Maybe I'll just have one bridesmaid. Maybe two. Maybe I just won't include my college friends. Ha, well I have plenty of time to think about it I"m sure.

scullerymaid at 2:11 p.m.

pots | pans