May 20, 2012

Identity confusion

This is how I know Popeguy (and college) has affected the way I view things sometimes. Last night I couldn't sleep so I decided to watch these HBO documentaries on Asian Heritage Month. I guess Sarah and Torey who were staying over were still up so they came downstairs and joined me. Anyway, this one part came on about a Korean-American that identifies as Italian-American because he was adopted from Korean as a baby by an Italian family. He expressed how he didn't feel Asian at all and was sometimes taken aback when people referred to him as Asian because for all intents and purposes he is Italian.

I thought what he had to say was very intriguing since I myself deal with identity issues almost everyday. But my companions didn't seem to understand what the man on tv was trying to say. But I guess that's what happens when you grow up middle class white without people asking you where you're from, what your ethnicity/nationality is, without looking in the mirror and seeing a "foreign" face staring back. it just really amazed me that they couldn't...I guess relate isn't the right word, but at least understand what the man was explaining.

Bleh

scullerymaid at 11:10 a.m.

pots | pans