May 06, 2012

Thank yous

Well, we didn't end up buying a nook, but we did go on a shopping spree where I added a few more items to my wardrobe and jewelry collection. Then he had a surprise destination for me, which took us down to Ghent to this restaurant/bar called The Public House. They were having a beer tasting event! Now, I'm not the biggest fan of beer, but I was really impressed that TJ found this place. It was fantastic. I really enjoyed the atmosphere. And yes, there were quite a few beers I would've been fine never trying in my life, but I was pleasantly surprised by the hard cider selection. Needless to say, I left the pub feeling a little bit tipsy. Their portions were quite generous in my opinion. Where I was expecting only a sip, I received half a glass!

Then we went home for a little while before dinner where TJ passed out for like three hours! When he got up he took me out to...a Japanese steak house! I love Japanese steak houses and it turns out he had never been to one before, which made it that much better. But he did make me try some sushi, an I don't mean of the California roll variety, though we had some of that too. I mean there's a raw piece of salmon on my rice type of sushi. It really wasn't that bad flavor wise, though the texture got to me a little bit. Oh, and TJ didn't know what wasabi was and swiped some on both of our pieces. He's such a goose!

It was an excellent day. And he really liked the hookah I got him.

scullerymaid at 10:46 a.m.

pots | pans