April 21, 2012

Arrested

Late last night my dad called me to tell me he was driving from Newport News to Richmond because my brother was arrested. My 17 year old brother was arrested for possession (marijuana, spice, tobacco) and a concealed weapon (brass knuckles). I know that my brother has made some bad decisions. I know he hangs out with the wrong people, the same friends that seem to help get him into trouble.

And yet I can't help but to blame my parents that this has happened. I mean, he's a kid and has been living on his own for two to three years just wandering around Chesterfield. Why? Because he doesn't want to move and leave his so called friends. And my parents just allowed it. When I was 14-15 if my parents said we were moving, I didn't have a choice. As harsh as it might have seemed, when they left the Richmond area they should have forced to do the same. Then maybe he would be in school. Maybe he would meet better friends. Maybe not, but at least he would be here.

I know it's my brother's fault that he was arrested. He should know better than to do the things he does. Or at least, he could be smarter about it. But my parents could have been parents, too.

I wonder what's going to happen to him now. It's another 8 months before he turn legal age.

scullerymaid at 10:17 a.m.

pots | pans