April 20, 2012

Chicken fry

Would you like to know what cooking problem I keep experiencing? Leftovers! I hate leftovers. One, most things don't taste as good second go around (except for baked pasta mmm mmm mmm). Two, they don't get eaten and sit in the fridge forever and ever. It's crazy how much waste we probably actually go through. Even when I try to narrow down my recipes for just two people...we still have leftovers. This is partly because TJ doesn't eat. He nibbles. He'll take a plate of whatever I cook and maybe eat half of it. Or more than half. He's just not much of an eater. So then I have food to put in the fridge. The only good thing about this is I'm turning into more of a nibbler, not really gorging myself throughout the day and having smaller meals.

Today for lunch i made us fried chicken. It turned out nice and golden thanks to my new dutch oven (yay!). I would, however, tweak the seasoning. I was mostly following a Paula Dean recipe and a couple others I found on the web. I made a water, egg, and hot sauce mixture and used House Autry as my breading. It looked good. Tasted good. But next time I think I would like to sort of marinate my chicken in the hot sauce for a spell. Supposedly the heat was going to cook out during frying but leave plenty of flavor. I couldn't taste it at all. I think I'll also add some extra seasoning to the chicken before dredging it through the flour mixture. That's an Alton Brown technique, but he pan fried his and I prefer deep frying for the pretty coloring it gets. Also, I'm more of a breast person than dark meat person. I think I'll stick to buying tenderloins and boneless breasts as opposed to bone-in. Just makes my life a lot easier. Otherwise, it was quite the success!


Photobucket

Photobucket

scullerymaid at 1:45 p.m.

pots | pans