March 28, 2012

Three shy of four

I've been on my period for three consecutive weeks minus a few days in between each cycle. This really blows!

When I was in high school, my period was pretty irregular. Sometimes it came, sometimes it didn't, and I didn't much worry about it. When I came to college, my period disappeared for a good ten months between my freshman and sophomore year. When it returned, it was like clockwork and I was pretty content with this new schedule. My senior year of college, I decided to go on birth control and my period went haywire, appearing two times a month instead of the usual once a month and that's pretty much where I've been for the past year or so- living on my period more often than not. I'm used to a double whammy period, but this is just outrageous. Is this the price I must pay to avoid pregnancy? Is this how my specific brand of bc works? It just keeps me on my period constantly so I don't have to worry about any stray eggs taking?

I talked to my gyno about it quite a few months ago and everything was honkie dory. Perhaps I should switch brands after all.

scullerymaid at 2:45 p.m.

pots | pans