March 23, 2012

Outside the box garden

Yesterday I finally found the perfect nail salon! I'm not one to get manicures, but I do love a good pedicure and the last few places I've been to have been quite under par. Well, Justine, a co-worker of mine, wanted to get a pedicure and she knew of this one place I'd never been to before. The soles of my feet were looking pretty rough- sandpaper rough- so I agreed to go and it was amazing. I would have been going to this place for ages if I'd known about it. My feet are baby bottom smooth, my toes are elegantly painted, and my eyebrows are freshly waxed. It was a great afternoon of pampering...

...and hopefully I don't ruin it all today. I'm about to head out to Home Depot to get some more stuff for my garden, which is coming along nicely. I tilled myself up a 4x8 piece of land and lined it with a wooden border. i have my tomatoes along the back, the peppers in the front left and am not quite sure what to do with the front right. Zucchini and beets mayhaps. I really want to learn how to make Granny's pickled beets. They are so good and being homemade makes them all the better!

I need to get some stakes for my peppers. You know, added support. I also want to buy some herbs today and get them in. I dug up a 2x4 spot alongside the right portion of my garden and planted a salvia plant, a purple flower that reminds me of lavender, to bring in butterflies. I think herbs would go perfect next to it. I'm thinking basil, mint, and one more thing.

I'm really surprised how much I've taken to gardening!

scullerymaid at 10:05 a.m.

pots | pans