March 08, 2012

I like your meat

Now that I live in a nice house with a decent kitchen I'm prone to do a lot more cooking than I ever did in my apartment. The apartment was so dark and cramped I simply got no joy out of my passion for food. But here, though anything I cook fills up this little house, it's bright and open and I cook nearly every night.

How much I missed cooking. I've been having such a good time at it, I half thought about having a career in food again. From probably the age of 10 to 17 I wanted to be a chef, but people talked me into going to a regular four year university instead. But, I don't think I would like working a hotline and the hours are so off from the rest of the world. Nights and weekends are expected in the food industry. So I started thinking about what I would like to do while I was at the grocer the other day. In the meat section, I was drooling over the pork loins and chicken thighs and decided that I have enough passion for meat to be a butcher. There's no formal training for such a vocation, though one would be well suited to take some sort of apprenticeship. There aren't very many old school butcher shops around here anyway, though fish shops keep catching my eye. Butchery isn't really a career dominated by many women which makes me want to do it even more. I looked up a couple places on the web and I've decided female butchers are HOT lol.

http://www.thelmagazine.com/newyork/sara-bigelow-girl-butcher/Content?oid=1833539


http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2007/11/18/LVT1TAJO6.DTL


http://lindyandgrundy.com/Press.htm


Plus, I could have tattoos and piercings if I had my own shop. But where should I put it here in Norfolk? Richmond would be an ideal location with the art crowd up there...and I would have an artsy shop! Maybe downtown near the fancier restaurants, or next to some upscale grocery.

But I doubt I'll become a butcher. It's just a nice thought. If I did, I would call it HOT CHOPS and our slogan would be JUST PUT IT IN YOUR MOUTH (these were the ideas of Artist and Popeguy, but I kind of like them haha)

Maybe one day I'll be a business owner!

scullerymaid at 3:55 p.m.

pots | pans