March 03, 2012

The Sicilian in me!

Since moving in with TJ I've become a cooking fiend and love it! How I do enjoy being in the kitchen.

Tonight I made lasagna. I didn't have any ground beef so I just made it with slabs of real mozzarella. But being the carnivore that I am, I decided to cook up some pork chunks. I seared them first in some oil and seasoned it with s&p and oregano. For a few minutes, my kitchen smelled like a greek restaurant. I was so tempted to add some lemon- but then I remembered that not everyone is as fond of lemon as I am. Next I added a can of roasted tomatoes and let that boil before turning it back down to a simmer. Ahh! That pork was so tender and juicy. Tj told me that I ruined it when I added the tomatoes...until he tasted it. I think his first bite was heaven! He also said my lasagna was better than his mom's.

Boo to the yah!

scullerymaid at 6:10 p.m.

pots | pans