February 28, 2012

At 17

Today my grandma and great grandma drove down to pay me a little visit. Mostly, so that my grandma and I could go insure and register my new car, but I enjoyed the visit nonetheless. Except for the fact they had little Allison with her and that two year old is a hell-raiser. Not a drop of discipline. But look who her mother is. She's a sweet baby when she wants to be, but she prefers to thrash her temper about and pout those bubba lips of her. But maybe it's only the terrible twos.

I was very glad that my granny tagged along too. I wish I could see her more often. When I was a little girl my memaw used to tell me stories about her childhood. I've never asked granny for any stories, but today I ventured to ask her how old she was when she got married. She was only 17 and was married to my great grandma for 53 years before he passed. I asked her if he proposed and when she said yes he did I asked her how she knew to say yes. My 89 year old granny shrugged and said she was so poor that getting married was a way to get away. As I pondered on that she went on to tell me that she supposed there must have been love between her and my gramps because they were married for a very long time.

How I wish I could get more stories out of her! All I ever had to do is sit down and ask. She could probably teach me so much if I wanted her to. If my cousin wasn't living there, I think I'd go stay with her for a few days just to learn how to make good biscuits and plant tomatoes. I really want her to teach my how to can and remember old things. I think I love the country so much because of her.

This is why I keep a diary. To remember my thoughts and so that one day my children can get a glimpse at what my life was like when I was young. I wonder if any of my grandparents ever kept journals.

scullerymaid at 9:42 p.m.

pots | pans