November 21, 2011

Turkbacon

Tomorrow is going to be so crazy! I have two turkeys to cook (one classic wrapped in bacon, the other asian inspired with soy and ginger) plus my famous white cheddar mac and cheese. Since we're down a couple people this year, I also have to make the stuffing and I'm thinking about whipping up a cucumber salad if I don't find the pickled beets I like. I would really like to do a bread pudding, too, but I don't think my budget will allow for it. My biggest concern, however, is time and space. Obviously I will have monopolied the oven at Math's place (she's the host this year) and that makes me nervous because a few other people want to bake things. So I think I'm going to cheat and make the mac today and just warm it up tomorrow....? I'm not sure if that would still taste good or not. Maybe I'll just run back and fourth between my apartment and Math's- that's what I did last year. Good idea! I wonder if anyone is bringing bread? So far on the list we have Greenbean cass, salad, fruit salad, double turkey, mac, pasta salad, roasted potatoes, brownie bites, some random and probably store bought dessert, and I'm not sure what else because my friends have yet to give me a confirmed head count! You know, though I've never been the host, I always seem to be in charge of Thanksgiving. I wonder if that's because I always cook the bird. Does that give me dinner planning authority, haha?

I probably didn't need to buy two birds, but I thought it would be fun to get smaller turkeys this year instead of one big one. You know, more flavor options and I've heard that they cook quicker. Guess we'll see. I wish we were eating earlier though. Dinner isn't scheduled til 8/8:30! I wonder how TJ will feel following me around all day as I cook like a madwoman. But last night he told me he likes my cooking better than his mom's. I don't know how I feel about that because I don't feel like I do all that much cooking. Must have been a damn good stir fry I made last night :-D

scullerymaid at 10:30 a.m.

pots | pans