August 25, 2005

In my element

We went swimming today. Usually I don't go in the pool, but just sit on the edge with my feet in the water. But today was different. I've only gone swimming once this summer, and for someone like me that's saying something. I used to live in the water. I'd stay in for hours, not even bothering with lunch.

But this year, I just didn't feel like getting in. Plus last year mom made me get this bathing suite that I hate and refuse to wear without a shirt, and at this pool shirts aren't allowed. So I had my own private rebellion, which actually hurt me more than anyone else, and just didn't go swimming.

Today, however, while I was sitting on the edge and looking into the water, I realized how much I missed the water. It's a part of me, something I've always enjoyed and always will. So, I spent the next half hour slowly disgarding my shorts and finally slipped into the water after quickly throwing off my shirt. I really do hate that bathing suite!

Ahh, how nice it felt. I was in my element, gliding through like a selkie. I hope I get to go again before labor day, and that it's not crowded. It wasn't crowded today.

And I'm definitely going to get a pool of my own when I grow up. (That's such a weird phrase to say now that I'm 16)

The lifeguard asked me if I was on a swim team because of the way I swim. Me? On a swim team! I was very flattered. The lifeguard is definitely in my good graces.

"With swimming comes this certain kind of freedom I can't explain"

scullerymaid at 5:41 p.m.

pots | pans