August 20, 2005

Pow Wow

The Pow Wow was great fun! Well, I'm not sure if my friends would agree with me; it was really hot and I don't think they would particularly enjoy having to sit around and watch some Indians dance, but I do. When I'm there, even though there are several generations of diluted Indian blood in my family, it gives me this sense of pride to listen to the beat of the drums and watch the grass dance; the friendship dance; the honoring of the country's veterans. It's just something I've always enjoyed and probably always will.

I've never been to an opening ceremony before. A Lakota danced first, if I remember right, and then they brought out the flags. They even prayed! In fact they prayed quite a few times, and I was glad that God is included in their ceremonies. Of course they have a few different names for Him, but they explained that it was the same God we pray to. Then there was more dancing. I think I'll try and get the pamphlet from Grandma so I can write what dances they performed.

I bought a necklace. It's not really something I could wear with any outfit (it would be good if I was dressing up), but it's pretty... and HEAVY! Made out of sterling silver and what I presume to be turquoise, it has a long chain with a kind of medallion at the end. It's circular and has designs on it, but in the middle is a turquoise turtle shell. below the medallion are two more turtle shells hanging on a bit of silver, and then the actual body of a turtle in between them. I can't say this description does it justice, but it's quite beautiful in my opinion.

I wanted to buy a pair of turquoise turtle earrings to go with it, but I need my money for tomorrow. I'm going to KD with my cousins.

Oh! And Grandma danced with them! They invited the public to come out at one point, and she wasn't going to go because of the heat... but she went anyway. Dad also went around in the circle when they did the honoring of the veterans and invited all veterans to come out. A lot of people in wheel chairs went around that circle. He also ate a buffalo burger. That's right, 100% pure buffalo! I passed this time, but enjoyed a bowl of Indian chili. It was real good, and didn't have any beans in it! (I don't like beans) Later I wished I had the recipe and Dad told me they were selling cookbooks. Thanks for telling me before we left!

Oh, well. There's another Pow Wow in September if I decide to go.

"I'd rather be fashionably early"

scullerymaid at 5:46 p.m.

pots | pans