October 03, 2017

What's new

SO much is going on...as always.

First, I'm impatiently waiting for my graduate application to be accepted. To be fair, the deadline was October 1st and I submitted it back in August. I'm sure Dr. L hasn't even thought about looking through applications yet and I probably have to agonize for at least another month. I did go ahead and apply for FAFSA today, and I hope I did it correctly since it's for a graduate program within the same academic year that I was enrolled in an undergraduate program.

I applied for a second job. I'm excited about it because it's for a local biscuit place, and the people just seem really awesome. Which also makes me nervous. Plus, I'd probably do some line cooking, which I've never done. And they get so so busy. I hope I can keep up. The only downside is that shifts start at 7am. That's gonna suck big time. But I'm not even bringing in $200 a week at my other restaurant right now and that's just not sustainable at all.

Today marks two weeks doing keto. Keto is a low carb, high fat way of eating. I decided to give it a go because my sugar was testing really high. Like in the 200s high. Not good. So far, keto seems to be really good for my sugar. And I've dropped 5 pounds. So I figure I'll keep at it for awhile. The thing I miss most is potatoes. And sandwiches. I eat a lot of cheese and broccoli, and have learned to tolerate salad. I've also started drinking coffee. I don't know why, but it's working for me right now.

I've made a "friend" at school. Friend is too strong a word. I haven't decided how I feel about the relationship, mostly because I already have my set group of friends, and don't like making time in my schedule for new people. Even though I complain about not having friends. But I'm a busy busy bee between school and work and Brian and I don't have time to see someone consistently all the time. Also, the stories she relates to me are full of inconsistencies. Not enough to bother me, but enough for me to notice. It's interesting. But she's nice and I do appreciate a sense of companionship on campus. I think I just feel old, and being around younger people make me reminisce about being that young and the things I used to get into and I'd just rather not reminisce.

Brian and I are attending his sister's wedding next weekend. I bought a rally cheap dress at Ross to wear. It's a little more formal than I intended, but Brian is in the wedding party so he's going to be all fancy anyway. I might as well match. It's a gorgeous gown, though, and makes me feel like a Grecian goddess, or some fairy queen. I'm a little nervous because it's sleeveless. I never go sleeveless in public because I have stretch marks on my shoulders, those bold red ones that can't go unnoticed. But I'm too old to worry about such things. So I'm not going to.

What else? Nothing really. My days are filled with reading. My nights are filled with reading. And my weekends are spent on my feet at work. I miss leisure. Not leisure, because I like being busy. There are just things I wish I could go do. Like apple picking in the mountains. Or visit Richmond more often. But I think that has more to do with a lack of money than a lack of time. I really hope this second job pans out.

scullerymaid at 10:42 p.m.

pots | pans